The Society

The John Snow Society aims to promote the life and works of Dr John Snow, the pioneer of epidemiological method and celebrated anaesthetist. The Society has over 3,000 members worldwide, many of them eminent specialists in their fields.

As outlined in the Constitution, the Society has a serious intent, publishing news, collecting facts and dates related to the life and works of John Snow and organising the Annual Pumphandle Lecture Series, but it also aims to provide a communication network for epidemiologists and those trained in the Snow tradition throughout the world.

Membership is open to anyone who wishes to celebrate the memory of John Snow. International membership is encouraged, the only requirement being that you visit the John Snow pub - located on the site of the original pump - on any trip to London! 

The John Snow Society is based in the London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine.


Founders of the Society

Professor Paul Fine, LSHTM, Dr Dilys Morgan, Public Health England, Dr Mary O’Mahony, Former HPA, Dr Ros Stanwell Smith, Royal Society for Public Health/LSHTM and Professor Jimmy Whitworth, LSHTM